Call: 415-720-5239


Wood Hardness

Hardness of Various Wood Flooring Materials

*Hardness is in lbs. per square inch Janka hardness test. Higher numbers are harder wood which means it will be less likely to scratch or dent than a softer wood.

Wood Hardness *
Chestnut, Domestic 540
Yellow Pine, Domestic 690
Mahogany, Honduran 800
Lacewood 840
Mahogany, African, Khaya 845
Heart Pine 870
Cherry, Domestic 950
Imbuia 950
Cherry, Africa, Makore 1010
Walnut, Domestic 1010
Aniegre 1110
Teak, true 1155
Iroko/Kambala 1260
Red Oak, Domestic 1260
Angelique 1290
Walnut, African, Mansonia 1290
Ash, Domestic 1320
White Oak, Domestic 1360
Cypress, Australian Hard 1375
Maple, Domestic 1450
Mahogany, African, Sapele 1500
Zebrawood 1575
Wenge 1630
Teak, Striped, Shedua 1650
Padauk 1725
Rosewood, Bolivian 1780
Yellowheart 1820
Jarrah, Australian 1915
Bubinga 1980
Purpleheart 2090
Goncalo Alves 2160
Rosewood, Asian 2170
Bocote 2200
Mahogany, Santos 2200
Rosewood, Honduran 2200
Cherry, Brazilian 2820
Bloodwood 3300
Chestnut, Southern 3540
Walnut, Brazilian 3680
Ebony, Brazilian 3692

Mission Statement :


We are committed to outstanding customer service at competitive prices to our builder, commercial and homeowner clientele in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Our specialty is residential hardwood flooring and commercial tenant improvement. Please contact our corporate office for references or see our client list. You can also see our answers to the most Frequently Asked Questions we are asked


The company owns a showroom east of the freeway (Hwy 101) in San Rafael, just north of the Terra Linda Exit. Our 500 square foot hardwood showroom has samples of solid hardwood, engineered hardwood, laminate flooring, carpet, cork and vinyl for all of your residential and commercial flooring needs


Our installers are experienced and committed to producing an excellent finished product. Terry McTaggart is the company’s President & Treasurer with 22 years experience in the flooring industry as a self-employed contractor. Mary Ryan is our Controller and Lesley Smith McTaggart is the Secretary.